Friday, May 1, 2009

Swine Flu School Closures - 35 States Now Reporting Swine Flu Cases - Death Toll Rises Among Healthy Young Adults

CNN reports that the swine flu has now closed 433 schools in 17 states, with a large number of other school systems considering the closure of additional schools. Researchers have determined that the current swine flu outbreak includes not only the North American version of the swine flu, but also the Asian version of the swine flu. It is the unknown nature of this new version of the swine flu, its rapid spread and its unknown characteristics that concern health researchers. While many cases are mild, in others the victims lungs have rapidly filled with fluid leading to death. Also of course is the fact that in Mexico the greatest number of deaths have been among otherwise health young adults. In the United States, the swine flu has exploded across the country, with report cases now in the following states: Oregon, Washington, California, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Utah, Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, Texas, Maine, New Hampsire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Alabama and the District of Columbia.